Honour Roll

Paralympics Australia recognises the achievements of Paralympic athletes, coaches and administrators through several awards, including the Australian Paralympian of the Year.

The award and title is the highest honour for an Australian Paralympic athlete and is awarded in a Paralympic Summer Games year to an athlete who has won a medal from the Games or has achieved outstanding results and performed their personal best.

1994 Louise Sauvage
1995 Priya Cooper
1996 Louise Sauvage
1997 Louise Sauvage
1998 Louise Sauvage
2000 Siobhan Paton
2002 Michael Milton
2004 Tim Sullivan
2008 Matthew Cowdrey
2010 Cameron Rahles-Rahbula
2012 Jacqueline Freney
2016 Dylan Alcott

Paralympics Australia established the Australian Paralympic Hall of Fame to recognise individuals who have:

  • made a significant contribution to Australian success at the Paralympic Games
  • enhanced the profile and understanding of Paralympic sport and Paralympic athletes in Australia
  • promoted the role of the Paralympic movement in the development of Australian sport and society.

Since 2011, six athletes and three administrators have been inducted into the Hall of Fame. They are:

Find out more about the Hall of Fame structure and selections process.