Michael Milton

Michael Milton is a Paralympic legend and Australia’s most decorated Winter Paralympian. Over his career that spanned more than 20 years, he claimed 11 Paralympic medals – including six golds – across six Paralympic Games. He was captain of the 2002 Australian Winter Paralympic Team and flag bearer at both the Salt Lake City 2002 and Torino 2006 Opening Ceremonies.

Milton made history when he claimed Australia’s first ever winter Paralympic gold medal at his second Paralympic Games in 1992.

At the Salt Lake City 2002 Winter Games, he completed a gold sweep in all four of his events, an impressive feat which saw him the take the title of Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability.

Milton then took up speed skiing to set a new world record in 2006 – clocking a staggering speed of 213.65 km/hr to become the fastest Australian skier in history.

Milton became the fourth Australian Paralympian to compete in both a winter and summer Paralympic Games when he made his Para-cycling debut at the Beijing 2008 Paralympic Games– overcoming oesophageal cancer in the process.

His work within the Para-Alpine skiing community continued as assistant Para-Alpine skiing coach with the Australian Paralympic team at the Sochi 2014 Winter Paralympic Games.

Michael has also raced in the Mark Webber Challenge, a five-day adventure race in Tasmania and in the 293km long Coast to Coast Kokoda Challenge. He has climbed Mt Kilimanjaro, walked Kokoda twice, completed an ultra-marathon. He also holds world records for the fastest marathon on crutches and fastest 5km on crutches. He has also competed in triathlon, representing Australia at two World Paratriathlon Championships, finishing fourth in China in 2011.


3 Paralympic Games (Innsbruck 1988, Tignes-Albertville 1992, Lillehammer 1994, Salt Lake City 2002, Torino 2006, Beijing 2008)
11 Paralympic medals

  • 1992: 1 gold, 1 silver
  • 1994: 1 gold, 1 silver, 2 bronze
  • 2002: 4 gold
  • 2006: 1 silver

Recognition of Milton’s achievements includes:

  • 1992: Medal of the Order of Australia
  • 1993/1994: Skiing Australia Skier of the Year
  • 2000: Australian Sports Medal
  • 2001: Inducted into the Australian Institute of Sport ‘Best of the Best’
  • 2002: Australian Paralympian of the Year
  • 2002: Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability
  • 2002 – NSW Sports Federation Senior athlete of the Year with a Disability
  • 2007: Australian Capital Territory Australian of the Year
  • 2014: Inducted into the Sport Australia Hall of Fame
  • 2015: Inducted into the ACT Sports Hall of Fame