Sports Summary

Shooting is a test of accuracy and control, in which competitors use pistols or rifles to fire a series of shots at a stationary target.

Competitions at the Paralympic Games are open to all athletes with a physical impairment. There are two classes of competition, wheelchair and standing. Athletes compete in rifle and pistol events from distances of 10, 25 and 50m, in men's, women's and mixed competitions.

Para-Shooting is governed internationally by the International Paralympic Committee (IPC). In Australia, the Australian Paralympic Committee is the National Federation for the sport. Through a mainstreaming Agreement, the APC funds Australian International Shooting to deliver the Paralympic Preparation Program.


Australian International Shooting Limited

International Paralympic Committee - Shooting


  • Rifle – Air Rifle Standing (10m), Air Rifle Prone (10m), Free Rifle, Sport Rifle
  • Pistol – Air Pistol (10m), Sport Pistol (25m), Free Pistol (50m)


Who is eligible for Shooting? Athletes with a physical impairment, such as spinal cord or nerve damage, limb loss or limb deficiency and other similar impairments.

What are the classes? Athletes are classified into classes depending on their functional ability into classes SH1 and SH2.

How do I get a classification? Request a classification using the Get Classified form.

Classification Rules, Forms, Policies and Procedures:  View International and National Shooting Classification resources.

Classification Masterlist: Athletes who have been nationally or internationally classified as per IPC Classification rules or APC Classification policy are included in the Australian masterlist.

Rules & Equipment

Rifles and pistols

Athletes use .22 calibre rifles and air guns (pneumatic, CO2 gas or spring). Upon trigger activation, the CO2 liquid changes to gas and activates the projectile toward the target. The pneumatic rifle uses a multiple pump system to store air pressure in a reservoir and trigger compression activates the projectile toward the target.  


For 10m events held with an Air Rifle or Air Pistol, bullets with a diameter of 4.5mm are use. For 25m Pistol events, and 50m Pistol and Rifle events, 5.6mm bullets are used. 


The standard target is a cardboard square with concentric white and black rings around a black centre ring (or bull's-eye). For the Paralympic Games, five different targets are used depending on the type of gun. These targets are electronic for increased accuracy. 




Medal History

Year Gold Silver Bronze total
2012 0 0 1 1
2008 0 0 0 0
2004 0 1 1 2
2000 0 1 0 1
1996 0 1 0 1
1992 0 0 0 0
1988 3 1 0 4
1984 9 0 0 9
1980 2 3 1 6
1976 1 0 0 1