Seven-time Paralympic medallist and stalwart of the Australian Para-swimming team, Matt Levy, has stunned his competition at the 2017 Australian Swimming Championships in Brisbane, QLD, setting a new S7 world record in the men’s 200m freestyle.

Clocking a time of 2:16.74, Matt topped the qualifiers, finishing ahead of Paralympic teammate Liam Schluter in 1:57.56 and rising star Jack Ireland in 1:59.25.

With the national title still up for grabs, Schluter stepped up to take the crown in 1:58.13, followed by London 2012 Paralympic Games representative Mitchell Kilduff in 1:59.94 and Ireland in 2:00.73.

Paralympic silver medallist Monique Murphy also impressed, earning the women’s 200m freestyle multi-class title in 2:15.06, with up-and-comers Monique Beckwith and Jordan Harton coming in second and third, in 2:15.14 and 2:20.20 respectively.

In the men’s and women’s 100m butterfly multi-class finals, three-time Paralympic gold medallist Brenden Hall retained his title in 1:03.31 over rivals Timothy Disken in 1:03.36 and Timothy Hodge in 1:03.63, with new kid on the block Abigail Lihou claiming gold in 1:07.76 ahead of Paralympic silver medallists Madeleine Scott in 1:09.64 and Taylor Corry in 1:10.30.

By Swimming Australia
Posted: 12/4/2017