Sports Summary

Judo is the only martial art at the Paralympic Games. Men’s competition was introduced at the Seoul 1988 Paralympic Games, with women’s competition added in Athens 2004.

Judo requires athletes to employ a mix of attack and defence and is open to athletes with a vison impairment across several weight divisions. Contests last five minutes and the athlete who scores the higher amount of points wins.

Get involved in Para-sport: register your interest today!


Blind Sports Australia

International Blind Sports Federation (IBSA)

International Paralympic Committee

Events & Disciplines

Seven weight categories for men – 60kg, 66kg, 73kg, 81kg, 90kg, 100kg, 100+kg

Six weight categories for women – 48kg, 52kg, 57kg, 63kg, 70kg, 70+kg


Who is eligible for Para-judo?

Athletes with a vision impairment affecting both eyes.

All players have limited or no vision in both eyes (either how far they can see or how wide their field of vision is). Athletes compete together in weight classes, rather than by how much they can see.

Rules & Equipment


Judo contests are fought on a mat, or tatami. The contest area is 8m x 8m, with a 1m safety area all the way around.

Reflecting its origins, all of the terminology of Judo is Japanese.

Two athletes (judokas) gain points for throws, holds, armlocks and strangles in a bid to beat their opponent. A contest lasts for five minutes, with the athlete who has the highest score at the end of the contest the winner. The contest will stop immediately if one judoka achieves ippon – the maximum score, two waza-ari (a lower score), or if the opponent either submits or is disqualified.

The scores of waza-ari and yuko depend on how the opponent lands upon being thrown, and how long a judoka can immobilise their opponent on their back.