Spread the love

The board of directors of Paralympics Australia (PA) is pleased to announce the appointment of Alison Creagh AM CSC as its new President.

The appointment comes at an important time in the lead up to Paris 2024, Milano Cortina 2026 and ultimately the Brisbane Paralympic Games in 2032.

Ms Creagh succeeds Jock O’Callaghan who has served as PA President since 2018. Mr O’Callaghan joined the board in 2015 and will continue to serve on the board until his maximum term ends next year.

“I am humbled and excited to lead this wonderful organization which plays such a critical role to develop the Para-sport community and to enable Australia’s Paralympic Teams to excel against the world’s best” Ms Creagh said.

“With the ongoing support of our amazing community of athletes, coaches, sports administrators, leaders and our valued partners, I’m looking forward to what we can achieve during my tenure.”

Ms Creagh joined the PA Board in July last year and was elected Vice-President in March alongside Paralympian Grant Mizens OAM PLY, who will continue to serve as Vice President. Mr Mizens is a three-time Paralympic medallist who was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia in 2009.

Ms Creagh, a retired Army Brigadier, was one of the most senior female officers in the Australian Defence Force when she retired in 2015 after a 30-year career. She has served as a board member of Rowing Australia and is an accredited national and international Para-rowing classifier. She is a Member of the Order of Australia and has been awarded the Conspicuous Service Cross and the NATO Meritorious Service Medal for her service abroad.

On behalf of the board, Ms Creagh thanked Mr O’Callaghan for his lengthy service and commitment to Paralympians and the disability sporting community.

“Jock has led the organisation during a time of significant reform of the Australian sporting landscape and the successful awarding of the 2032 Brisbane Olympic and Paralympic Games.

“We thank Jock for his service and for his significant contribution during his five years as President and eight years on the board.”

In addition to Mr O’Callaghan and Mr Mizens, Ms Creagh serves on the PA Board with Hon. Tim Carmody AM KC, Rebecca Frizelle OAM, John Hartigan AO and Kate Jones.

Ms Creagh becomes the eighth President since the organisation was established in 1990 and the third female President. The previous female President was Marie Little, who served from 1996-1997.

By: Paralympics Australia
Posted: 11 September 2023