Cycling Australia has named the riders selected to the Australian team for the 2020 Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) Para-cycling Track World Championships, to be held in Milton, Canada, from 30 January to 2 February 2020.

The Championships will provide the final opportunity to acquire qualification points towards the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games, with the Australian team to vie against 200 of the world’s best from 30 countries.

Australia enjoyed superb results at the 2019 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships last March, with the team finishing second on the medal standings, with nine world titles in a glittering 17-medal haul.

The team for the 2020 World Championships is highlighted by reigning world champions Alistair Donohoe, Paige Greco, Darren Hicks, David Nicholas, Emily Petricola and Amanda Reid.

World Championships medallists Meg Lemon and Gordon Allan round out the selections.

“With the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games in August, the World Championships in January in Canada will be a great test for the athletes and coaches, as we look to build and peak for later in the year,” said Warren McDonald, Cycling Australia’s Para-cycling Technical Director.

“Our ‘What Will It Take To Win’ process has identified gaps that mean we can still improve on our success from 2019.”

Prior to January’s World Championships, Australia’s Para-cycling stars will be in action on home soil at the 2019-2020 UCI Track Cycling World Cup, to be held at Brisbane’s Anna Meares Velodrome from 13-15 December.

Australian Team – 2020 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships
Athlete State Classification
Gordon Allan NSW C2
Alistair Donohoe VIC C5
Paige Greco SA C3
Darren Hicks SA C2
Meg Lemon SA C4
David Nicholas QLD C3
Emily Petricola VIC C4
Amanda Reid NSW C2

By Cycling Australia
Posted: 19/11/2019
Photo with thanks to Casey Gibson / Cycling Australia