In just under 90 days, 1000 athletes from up to 80 countries will converge on Brisbane, QLD, to compete at the 2019 International Federation for Athletes with Intellectual Impairments (INAS) Global Games, the largest, international multi-sport event to be held in Australia this year.

Held every four years, the INAS Global Games is a world-class sporting competition for athletes with an intellectual impairment.

Over seven intensive days of competition from 12-19 October, athletes from around the globe will contest 10 internationally sanctioned sports, including Para-athletics, basketball, cricket, Para-cycling, futsal, Para-rowing, Para-swimming, Para-table tennis, Para-taekwondo and tennis.

2019 INAS Global Games Chief Executive Officer Robyn Smith said the countdown had truly begun with team lists being finalised and teams preparing to head to Australia from countries including France, the USA, Great Britain, New Zealand, Japan and China.

“This is a truly international competition and whilst the rivalry is friendly, it is fiercely competitive with three of our sports featuring events that can qualify athletes for the 2020 Tokyo Paralympics,” Smith said.

“This event is hosted by Sport Inclusion Australia and is a celebration of the incredible abilities these athletes have in their chosen sports – they all have phenomenal talent and like all athletes work incredibly hard to represent their country.

“Through hosting these Games, we know we can challenge perceptions, change attitudes and strengthen communities locally and globally and leave a legacy that showcases the power of sport to break down barriers and create social inclusion.”

Thirty-nine athletes have been named to the Australian Para-swimming team.

Australian Para-swimming team for the 2019 INAS Global Games
Name State
Joshua Alford ACT
Taylor Anderton QLD
Liam Bailey-Rose* QLD
Claire Barr* VIC
Russell Booysen QLD
Harry Cahill QLD
Katrina Coffey QLD
Amy Cook NSW
Michael Cox QLD
Lily Crawford NSW
Jack Dixon QLD
Patrick Donachie NSW
Bradley Doolan VIC
Jarrod Dyer* NSW
Nicole Fielden* QLD
Jeremy Gawne QLD
Darcy Gilson* NSW
Lachlan Hanratty* NSW
Nikesha Harding NSW
Gabriella Howells NSW
Jack Ireland QLD
Victoria Jessamine* NSW
Caitlin Kerby QLD
Mitchell Kilduff NSW
Paige Leonhardt QLD
Jade Lucy NSW
Colin Marks QLD
Madeleine McTernan QLD
Phoebe Mitchell VIC
Benjamin Morrison VIC
Magdalena Moshi* SA
Ashley-Kate Schlenner QLD
Liam Schluter QLD
Bailey Stewart* QLD
Benjamin Stokes ACT
Ruby Storm VIC
Mitchell Toohey QLD
Ashley Van Rijswijk* NSW
Sarah Wallace* QLD
Name Role State
Andrew Howard Head Coach QLD
June Cotter Manager QLD
David Heyden Assistant Coach QLD
Sadat-Jon Hussain Assistant Coach VIC
Guilherme Santos Assistant Coach QLD
Craig Tobin Assistant Coach QLD

* Debutant

Posted: 17/07/2019
By Swimming Australia
Photo with thanks to Quinn Rooney/Getty Images