Cycling Australia has announced the 14 athletes selected to the Australian team for the 2019 UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships, to be held from 12-15 September in Emmen, Netherlands.

It has been a stellar opening to the 2019 international season for Australian Para-cyclists with a 24-medal haul, including eight gold, captured across the first two rounds of the 2019 UCI Para-cycling Road World Cup season in May.

Seven-time world champion Carol Cooke (VIC), reigning world champion Emilie Miller (NSW) and newcomer Paige Greco (SA) have been selected following their superb start to 2019, which sees them wearing the World Cup leader’s jerseys in their respective categories.

2019 world champion on the track Emily Petricola (VIC) receives her first road team selection, with 2018 Road World Championships medallists Kaitlyn Schurmann (VIC), Hannah Macdougall (VIC) and Meg Lemon (SA) also selected.

Reigning road champion Alistair Donohoe (VIC), dual Paralympic champion David Nicholas (QLD) and Darren Hicks (SA) will all be eager to add a road world title to the rainbow jerseys they claimed at the 2019 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships in March.

The Australian team will contest the third round of the World Cup in Canada in August ahead of September’s World Championships.

Offering valuable qualification points towards the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games, the Championships will see the Australian team contest the road race and time trial against 200 of the world’s best Para-cyclists.

Australian team for the 2019 UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships
Name State Classification
Alistair Donohoe VIC C5
Carol Cooke VIC T2
Paige Greco SA C3
Darren Hicks SA C2
Stu Jones NSW T2
Meg Lemon SA C4
Hannah Macdougall VIC C4
Emilie Miller NSW H1
David Nicholas QLD C3
Emily Petricola VIC C4
Kaitlyn Schurmann VIC C1
Stu Tripp VIC H5
Gabrielle Vassallo* NSW NSW
Alex Welsh VIC H3

​* Selection dependent upon further medical sign-off

By Cycling Australia
Posted: 06/06/2019