David Nicholas’ (QLD) successful world title defence and bronze to debutant Emily Petricola (VIC) highlighted the Australian Cycling Team’s results on the opening day of the 2018 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships in Rio. 

The team also figured just off the podium with four fourth places finishes to Darren Hicks (SA-C2), Simone Kennedy (NSW-C3) and Amanda Reid (NSW-C2) in the individual pursuit, and Kyle Bridgwood (QLD-C4) in the time trial.

Reigning Paralympic and world champion Nicholas clocked the fastest time in the afternoon’s qualifying in the men’s C3 individual pursuit (3:36.792).

Nicholas found two extra seconds in the tank in the final (3:34.804) to comfortably defeat Diederick Schelfhout (BEL) in the final by over four seconds.

On her team debut, Petricola clocked 41.409secs to win bronze in the C4 women’s 500m time trial.

The Championships run from March 22-25 and offers the first vital opportunity for nations to grab valuable qualification points towards Tokyo 2020, with the 16-rider Australian team to vie against 200 of the world’s best from 30 countries.

Day 1 Results

Individual Pursuit:

Darren Hicks (SA-C2) (Qual 3:51.754 / Final 3:51.306) Fourth
Simone Kennedy (NSW-C3) (Qual 4:19.592 / Final 4:17.662) Fourth
David Nicholas (QLD-C3) (Qual 3:36.792 / Final 3:34.804) Gold
Amanda Reid (NSW-C2) (Final Caught) Fourth
Darcy Thompson (SA-C1) (Qual 4:04.710) Sixth

Time Trial:

Meg Lemon (SA-C4) 43.336 Ninth
Emily Petricola (VIC-C4) 41.409 Bronze
Kyle Bridgwood (QLD-C4) 1:09.079 Fourth
Alistair Donohoe (VIC-C5) 1:09.429 Eighth

By Cycling Australia

Posted: 23/03/2018

Meet our athletes

Sorry no staff found