Cycling Australia is pleased to announce the Australian team for the 2017 UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships to be held in South Africa from 31 August 2017.

2016 Paralympic gold medallists and multiple world champions David Nicholas (QLD) and Carol Cooke (VIC) headline the selections in the 15-rider team.

Cooke will enter the Championships as the defending champion in the T2 time trial after claiming gold at the 2015 World Championships in Switzerland (note the UCI did not hold a World Championships in 2016).

Fellow reigning world champions Alistair Donohoe (VIC) and Kyle Bridgwood (QLD) will be eager to defend their rainbows in the C5 road race and C4 time trial respectively.

Paralympic medallists Simone Kennedy (NSW) and Stuart Tripp (VIC) have been named, as have reigning national champions Grant Allen (SA), Darren Hicks (SA), Grant Nickel (NSW) and Emile Miller (NSW).

Rising stars Meg Lemon (SA) and Darcy Thompson (SA) and will make their Road World Championships debut for Australia as will Hannah Macdougall (VIC) and Tandem duo Kieran Murphy (SA) and Pilot Lachlan Glasspool (SA).

The team is fresh from the recent 2017 Australian Championships held in Victoria, while a number of riders have just arrived in Europe ahead of the upcoming UCI Para Road World Cups in Italy and Belgium in May.


·        Grant Nickel (NSW) H1

·        Grant Allen (SA) H4

·        Stuart Tripp (VIC) H5

·        Darcy Thompson (SA) C1

·        Darren Hicks (SA) C2

·        David Nicholas (QLD) C3

·        Kyle Bridgwood (QLD) C4

·        Alistair Donohoe (VIC) C5

·        Kieran Murphy (SA) BM & Lachlan Glasspool (SA) Pilot

·        Carol Cooke (VIC) T2

·        Emilie Miller (NSW) H1

·        Simone Kennedy (NSW) C3

·        Meg Lemon (SA) C4

·        Hannah Macdougall (VIC) C4

By Cycling Australia

Posted: 12/5/2017