The Australian Para-cycling team claimed 11 medals including four gold at the second of the three rounds of the 2017 UCI Para-cycling Road World Cup in Ostend Belgium.

Meg Lemon (SA) was again too strong in the women’s C4 time trial as she picked up her second gold in two weeks with teammate Hannah Macdougall (VIC) joining her on the podium in silver.

Rio Paralympic champion Carol Cooke (VIC) made it two time trial gold for Australia as she improved from silver a week ago in the women’s T2.

Stuart Tripp (VIC) collected his second silver in a row in the men’s H5, with Kyle Bridgwood (QLD) taking silver in the men’s C4.

After missing a medal by a second last week Kieran Murphy and Lachlan Glasspool (SA) picked up bronze in the men’s tandem.

While in other events Darcy Thompson (SA) finished seventh in the men’s C1 and David Nicholas (QLD) was 10th in the men’s C3.

In the road races the women’s C4 was again dominated by the Australia team with Lemon and Macdougall repeating their time trial performance to take gold and silver.

Rio Paralympic individual pursuit gold medallist Nicholas improved on bronze from a week ago to take gold in the men’s C3 and Bridgwood grabbed silver in the men’s C4.

Cooke claimed a fourth medal from four events this season adding silver in the women’s T2 road race.

Tripp claimed another top five finish in the men’s H5, Murphy and Glasspool were sixth in the men’s tandem and Thompson was eighth in the men’s C1.

Australian Medallists

Time Trial
Gold – Meg Lemon (Women C4)
Gold – Carol Cooke (Women T2)
Silver – Kyle Bridgwood (Men C4)
Silver – Stuart Tripp (Men H5)
Silver – Hannah Macdougall (Women C4)
Bronze – Kieran Murphy and Lachlan Glasspool (Men Tandem)

Road Race
Gold – David Nicholas (Men C3)
Gold – Meg Lemon (Women C4)
Silver – Kyle Bridgwood (Men C4)
Silver – Hannah Macdougall (Women C4)
Silver – Carol Cooke (Women T2)

By Cycling Australia

Posted: 23/5/2017