The Australia Para-cycling team added one silver and bronze on the final day of competition of the 2017 UCI Track World Championships.

The team finished third on the medal tally behind the USA and Great Britain, with a final medal tally of 14 including four gold, six silver and four bronze.

On the final day, dual Paralympic gold medallist David Nicholas (QLD) won bronze in the C1-C3 scratch race.

It was the third podium appearance of the week for the Queenslander, with Nicholas completing a full set of medals with gold in the individual pursuit and silver in the time trial.

2015 scratch race world champion Alistair Donohoe (VIC) grabbed silver in the C4-C5 scratch race, his fourth podium appearance in four years in the event.

In other events on the final day, reigning world champion Jess Gallagher (VIC) and Pilot Steph Fernandez (NSW) clocked the fastest flying 200m qualifying time (11.327). The pair finished fourth overall after being edged by eventual winners Sophie Thornill and Corrine Hall (GBR) in the semi finals.

In the mixed team sprint, Donohoe, Kyle Bridgwood (QLD) and Amanda Reid (NSW) finished fifth.

“The overall team performance exceeded expectations as we presented a blended team with expected performances and several debutants,” said Peter Day, Cycling Australia Para-cycling Head Coach / Technical Director.

“It was great to see Simone Kennedy and Davis Nicholas win rainbow jerseys in the individual pursuit championships after first winning the same event back on 2012 also in Los Angeles.”

Day also praised the athlete’s commitment and dedication to their performance, particularly given the Championship was only confirmed by the UCI just eight short weeks ago.

“We were very pleased with the commitment demonstrated by all the athletes, especially when we consider the very short lead time we had for the event,” he added.

“Overall, I am really encouraged with the results as the Para-cycling High Performance Program as we start a new four-year campaign towards Tokyo 2020.”


  • Amanda Reid (NSW) 3 – C1-C3 time trial and individual pursuit gold, scratch race silver
  • David Nicholas (QLD 3 – individual pursuit gold, time trial silver, C1-C3 scratch race bronze
  • Kyle Bridgwood (QLD) 2 – C4 men’s time trial bronze & individual pursuit silver
  • Kieran Murphy & Lachlan Glasspool (Pilot) (SA) 2 – Tandem 1km time trial bronze, time trial silver
  • Darcy Thompson (SA) 2 – silver
  • Simone Kennedy (NSW) 1 – gold
  • Alistair Donohoe (VIC) 1 – silver

The Championships were held at the VELO Sports Center in Carson in the west of Los Angeles and was first time in the history of the sport that a UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships was be held during the season following a Paralympic Games. Full Championship results via the official VeloResults Live Timing site.

By Cycling Australia

Posted 6/3/2017