The Australian Paralympic Committee (APC) would like to congratulate the Australian Paralympians who have today been named on the Australia Day honours list by His Excellency General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove.

Named on the list for their services to sport, 18 members of the 2016 Australian Paralympic Team who won their first Paralympic gold medal in Rio have received a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM).

Meanwhile, Michellie Jones, who acted as guide to vision-impaired Paralympic triathlon champion Katie Kelly, has received the Member of the Order of Australia (AM).

APC Chief Executive Lynne Anderson said the gold medal performances from Australia’s Paralympians provided moments of national significance and deserved to be recognised accordingly.

“Australia’s Paralympians embody what it means to be Australian and for those who achieve the ultimate accolade, a Paralympic gold medal, it confirms their place as the very best in the world in a chosen pursuit,” Anderson said.

“I’d like to congratulate each of the 19 Paralympic athletes who have today been named on the Australia Day honours list. Each athlete recognised today have not only reached their pinnacle of their sport, but displayed the core values of the Paralympic movement during the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games and did their country proud.

“It’s fantastic to see their gold medal wins being celebrated once again as we now look forward to seeing what our athletes can continue to achieve in the coming months and years.

The 2016 Australian Paralympic Team also comprised of 16 gold medallists who are already OAM recipients.

List of 2016 Australian Team members honoured:

Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM)

Russell Boaden – Para-sailing

Brayden Davidson – Para-athletics

Heath Davidson – Wheelchair tennis

Tim Disken – Para-swimming

Andrew Edmondson – Wheelchair rugby

Ben Fawcett – Wheelchair rugby

Jonathan Harris – Para-sailing

Colin Harrison – Para-sailing

Katie Kelly – Para-triathlon

Matt Lewis – Wheelchair rugby

Ashleigh McConnell – Para-swimming

Curtis McGrath – Para-canoe

Lakeisha Patterson – Para-swimming

Scott Reardon – Para-athletics

Tiffany Thomas-Kane – Para-swimming

James Turner – Para-athletics

Jayden Warn – Wheelchair rugby

Rachael Watson – Para-swimming

Member of the Order of Australia (AM)

Michellie Jones – Para-triathlon

By APC Media

Posted: 26/1/2017