The Australian Paralympic Committee (APC) has today announced the finalists for the prestigious 2016 Australian Paralympic Awards.

Seven awards will be presented at the Gala Ceremony in Sydney on Thursday, 8 December, including the highest accolade in Australian Paralympic sport – Paralympian of the Year.

The induction of new members into the Australian Paralympic Hall of Fame will also take place.

The awards and finalists are as follows:


Male Paralympian of the Year

Dylan Alcott (wheelchair tennis)

Curtis McGrath (Para-canoe)

Scott Reardon (Para-athletics)

James Turner (Para-athletics)

Ryley Batt (wheelchair rugby)


Female Paralympian of the Year

Maddison Elliott (Para-swimming)

Carol Cooke (Para-cycling)

Lakeisha Patterson (Para-swimming)

Katie Kelly (Para-triathlon)

Ellie Cole (Para-swimming)


Rookie of the Year

Lakeisha Patterson (Para-swimming)

James Turner (Para-athletics)

Brayden Davidson (Para-athletics)

Tiffany Thomas Kane (Para-swimming)

Sam von Einem (Para-table tennis)


Team of the Year

The Steelers (wheelchair rugby)

The Australian Sailing Team

Women’s 4 x 100m freestyle relay team (Para-swimming)

Men’s Quad Doubles (wheelchair tennis)

Women’s 4 x 400m relay team (Para-athletics)


Coach of the Year

Brad Dubberley (wheelchair rugby)

Corey Bacon (Para-triathlon)

Andrea King (Para-canoe)

Harley Connolly (Para-swimming)

Iryna Dvoskina (Para-athletics


Tickets to the Australian Paralympic Awards are still available and can be purchased here.

By APC Media

Posted: 30/11/2016