Cycling Australia is pleased to announce a 14-rider team for the 2016 Para-cycling Track World Championships to be held in Montichiari/ Italy from 17-20 March.

Alistair Donohue VIC (2)The Championships provide one of the final chances for riders to impress ahead of the Rio Paralympics in September.

The team features reigning world and Paralympic champions Sue Powell (ACT) and Michael Gallagher (VIC) plus dual road and track world champion Alistair Donohoe (VIC).

2012 Paralympic gold medallist David Nicholas (QLD) and medallists Alex Lisney (nee Green) (NSW) and Simone Kennedy (NSW) have been named.

Amanda Reid (NSW), Darcy Thompson (SA), Hannah Macdougall (VIC) and Kyle Bridgwood (QLD) will make their team debut.

Three men’s Tandem teams have been named including 2014 world champions Matt Formston and Pilot Mick Curran (Pilot) (NSW), plus seven-time Paralympian Kieran Modra (SA) and Pilot David Edwards (QLD) and Commonwealth Games medallists Paul Kennedy (ACT) and Pilot Nicholas Yallouris (NSW).

Jessica Gallagher (VIC), a dual Winter Paralympic medallist and London Paralympic athletics competitor, has been selected with Pilot Madison Janssen (QLD).


  • Sue Powell  (ACT)
  • Alex Lisney (nee Green) (NSW)
  • Simone Kennedy  (NSW)
  • Hannah Macdougall  (VIC)
  • Amanda Reid (NSW)
  • Michael Gallagher  (VIC)
  • Alistair Donohoe  (VIC)
  • David Nicholas  (QLD)
  • Kyle Bridgwood  (QLD)
  • Darcy Thompson (SA)
  • Jessica Gallagher (VIC) / Madison Janssen (Pilot)  (QLD )
  • Matt Formston NSW/Mick Curran (Pilot)  (NSW)
  • Paul Kennedy ACT/ Nicholas Yallouris (Pilot)  (NSW)
  • Kieran Modra SA/ David Edwards (Pilot)  (QLD)

By Cycling Australia

Posted: 11/1/2016