ADTeam Australia earned a third world title at the UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships in Nottwil, Switzerland on Saturday with Alistair Donohoe (VIC) claiming gold in the men’s C5 road race.

Australia also claimed two silver and a bronze on the first day of road races through Carol Cooke (VIC), Sue Powell (ACT) and Simone Kennedy (NSW).

Reigning world champion Donohoe successfully defended his C5 road race world title winning a sprint from a group of four riders to again pull on the rainbow jersey.

“It feels very, very satisfying! Possibly even better than last years win,” revealed Donohoe. “Going back to back was all I cared about this year.”

Silver went to Yehor Dementyev (Ukraine) and bronze Andrea Tarlao (Italy). Teammate and fellow Victorian Michael Gallagher (VIC), the 2013 world champion in the event, finished in fifth place.

“Keeping the jersey in Australian hands was essential,” said Donohoe, who also claimed silver in Thursday’s time trial

“It feels awesome to claim a medal in both, I also had a seven bunch race win streak I thought was coming to an end so it is a relief it didn’t!

“I’d put a fair bit of pressure on myself to win this one as it’s definitely my strongest event and ticket for Rio selection,” added Donohoe who maintains the honour of being both a reigning road and track world champion after claiming the scratch world title last April.

Cooke claimed silver in the women’s T2 road race, adding it to her gold medal in the time trial on Thursday. Jill Walsh (United States) crossed the line first just six seconds ahead of Cooke, while Jana Majunke (Germany) finished with bronze two minutes behind.

In the women’s C4 road race Powell finished in second position behind Shawn Morelli (United States) who claimed gold solo and ahead of Jenny Narcisi (Italy). Alexandra Green (NSW) finished in fifth place.

Bianca Woolford (SA) finished fourth in the women’s T1 category. Gold went to Canada’s Shelley Gautier ahead of Russian duo silver Yulia Sibagatova and Svetlana Perova.

Kyle Bridgwood (QLD) finished fifth in the men’s C4. Gold went to Patrik Kuril (Slovakia) ahead of Carol-Eduard Novak (Romania) and Sergey Pudov (Russia).

In the men’s C3 category David Nicholas (QLD) finished seventh as part of the main peloton. Gold was taken by a solo Masaki Fujita (Japan) with Alexsey Obydennov (Russia) leading home the chase group for silver ahead of Eduardo Santas Asensio (Spain).

By Cycling Australia
Posted: 3/8/2015

Photo with thanks to UCI