Alexandra Green AUS CyclingThe individual and Tandem time trial finals kick-started the Para-cycling Track National Championships at Melbourne’s DISC Velodrome on Thursday afternoon.

Reigning 3km individual pursuit world champion Sue Powell (ACT) proved her excellence over the shorter distance once again, taking her seventh straight C4 time trial title.

“Great to get another title,” said Powell, who has quickly changed focus towards Friday’s individual pursuit where she will ride in the rainbow jersey.  “Tomorrow is where we all go head to head and anything can happen.

“Alex (Green) is going really well at the moment, there wasn’t much in it [at the UCI event in New Zealand] last week, so I think tomorrow will be a tight one.”

In other events, 2012 world champion Simone Kennedy (NSW) took a fourth consecutive C2 crown.

In the C3 and C2 men’s events, David Nicholas (QLD) and Andrew Falconer (NSW) both claimed their third consecutive gold medals respectively.

Ben Ellen (QLD) won the C4 men’s event, while Cycling Australia Para-cyclist of the Year Alistair Donohue (VIC) was crowned C5 champion.

Reigning world champions over the longer 4km distance in the pursuit, Matt Formston (NSW) & pilot Michael Curran (NSW) took gold in the men’s tandem time trial final.

“First kilo title, its another step in our careers, not something we didn’t train for so its great to get the win,” said Formston, fresh from winning recent UCI events in New

Zealand and Melbourne held earlier this month.  “We have done two heavy races over the past couple of weeks, so we had lots of confidence heading into today.”

“It’s always exciting to be able to wear the rainbow jersey, you wake up with a bit of a buzz,” said Curran.

The women’s tandem time trial was claimed by Rachel Henderson (SA) and Pilot Carla Franson (SA).

The action continues for the Para-cyclists on Friday with the the sprint and individual pursuits.

Para C3 Women Time Trial 2 Laps 500m Final
GOLD Simone KENNEDY (NSW) 44.010

Para C4 Women Time Trial 2 Laps 500m Final
GOLD Susan POWELL (ACT) 40.955
SILVER Alexandra GREEN (NSW) 43.761

Para C2 Men Time Trial 4 Laps 1000m Final
GOLD Andrew FALCONER (NSW) 1:27.327
SILVER Gabriel BOURIS (VIC) 1:45.915

Para C3 Men Time Trial 4 Laps 1000m Final
GOLD David NICHOLAS (QLD) 1:10.221
SILVER Gordon ALLAN (NSW) 1:24.314

Para C4 Men Time Trial 4 Laps 1000m Final
GOLD Ben ELLEN (QLD)  1:12.743
SILVER Benjamin SWAIN (NSW) 1:18.014

Para C5 Men Time Trial 4 Laps 1000m Final
GOLD Alistair DONOHOE (VIC) 1:06.450

Para Women Tandem Time Trial 4 Laps 1000m Final
GOLD Rachel HENDERSON (SA) & Carla FRANSON (SA) – Pilot 1:13.364
SILVER Lindy HOU (ACT) & Kerry KNOWLER (ACT) – Pilot 1:14.814
BRONZE Jessica GALLAGHER (VIC) & Jessica ALLEN (WA) – Pilot 1:15.420

Para Men Tandem Time Trial 4 Laps 1000m Final
GOLD Matt FORMSTON (NSW) & Michael CURRAN (NSW) – Pilot 1:04.239
SILVER Brad HENDERSON (SA) & Thomas DRIZNERS (SA) – Pilot 1:05.166
BRONZE Paul KENNEDY (ACT) & Thomas CLARKE (ACT) – Pilot 1:05.455

By Cycling Australia
Posted: 19/12/14