NSW Team - Gold Medalist and National ChampionsWith all the same characteristics of a State of Origin match, the 2014 National Paralympic 7-A-Side Football Championships gold medal match saw Australia’s two biggest sporting rivals come head-to-head, as NSW won their sixth consecutive title.

Both the NSW and Queensland teams included former Pararoos on their rosters, meaning plenty of experience was on show as NSW and Queensland battled it out for the title for the 11th time in the championship’s history.

The NSW team included Connor Marsh, Jack Williams, James Turner, Chris Pyne, Ben Atkins and Brett Fairhall, and the Queensland roster included Jamie Paulsen, Jarrod Larkins-Law, Robbie Christie, Jared Eiby and Beau Menzies.

It was evident that NSW was determined to defend its title from the start of the match; Harrison Dowdell, one of the team’s newest players, scored in the 7th minute, and Jack Williams followed up with another goal in the 20th minute.

The NSW team went further ahead in the 32nd minute through a brilliant strike by the NSW Captain and former Pararoo Chris Pyne. It wasn’t long before NSW put the game almost out of the Queenslander’s hand when 14-year-old Harrison Dowdell scored his second goalfor the match.

The 56th minute saw a penalty spot after a hand ball by NSW, which gave the Queensland captain the opportunity to score the team’s only goal.

The final score between the two teams was 4-1.

By FFA and APC Media
Posted: 7/10/14