Alexandra Green AUS CyclingAustralia will be represented by a lucky thirteen Para-cyclists at the 2014 UCI Para-cycling World Road Championships which will be held in Greenville, USA from August 28 –  September 1.

Headlining the 2014 men’s selections is two-time reigning C3 time trial world champion David Nicholas (QLD) and defending road race champion in the C5 category Michael Gallagher (VIC).

Carol Cooke (VIC), dual reigning world champion in the women’s T2 classification, will look to defend her crowns in both the time trial and road race.

Dual 2011 road world champion Sue Powell (ACT) will look to add to her medal tally which included two bronze in 2013.  Fellow 2013 bronze medallists Nigel Barley (WA) and Alistair Donohoe (VIC) will also line up.

Australia has enjoyed tremendous Para-cycling success in 2014, finishing as the most successful country with 17 medals, including five rainbow jerseys, at the 2014 UCI Para-cycling World Track Championships held in April in Mexico.

Reigning track world champions who will head to the Road Worlds include Gallagher and Powell, plus Jayme Richardson (NSW) and the Men’s Tandem combination of Matt Formston (NSW) and pilot Michael Curran (NSW).

Australia found the podium nine times at the 2013 World Para-cycling Championships in Canada last August, walking away with four world titles and five bronze medals.

2014 Australian Para-cycling Road Team
Jayme Richardson (NSW) C1
Carol Cooke (VIC) T2
Sue Powell (ACT)  C4
Alexandra Green (NSW) C4
Bianca Woolford (SA) T1

David Nicholas (QLD) C3
Michael Gallagher (VIC) C5
Alistair Donohoe (VIC) C5
Nigel Barley (WA) H3
Stuart Tripp (VIC) H4
Craig Parsons (WA) H1
Matt Formston (NSW) B
Michael Curran (NSW) Pilot

Event Information
2014 UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships
Greenville, USA
August 28 – September 1
UCI Website
Official Event Website

By Cycling Australia
Posted: 21/8/14