David Nicholas AUS Leads CyclingCycling Australia is pleased to announce the final Australian Para-cycling Track Team for the UCI Para-cycling World Track Championships to be held in Aguascalientes, Mexico, 10 – 13 April 2014.

South Australia’s five-time Paralympian Kieran Modra headlines the team, with the three-time reigning 4km individual pursuit Paralympic gold medallist to partner former Australian sprinter Jason Niblett in the tandem sprint and time trial.

The new pairing claimed two gold medals at the recent National Championships in Melbourne and will be looking for a solid performance in Mexico ahead of the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games.

2012 Paralympic champion and two-time world champion in the tandem time trial Felicity Johnson (SA) has been named and will partner national champion team mate Holly Takos (SA).

Reigning 2012 Paralympic and world champions David Nicholas (QLD) and Michael Gallagher (VIC) will line up, while 2012 Paralympic gold medallist Sue Powell (ACT) and reigning world champions Alex Green (NSW) and Simone Kennedy (NSW) have also been named.

The team will be assembling for a pre-departure camp in Adelaide from March 24 and will depart for Mexico on April 4.

Australian Para-cycling Track Team:


Jayme Richardson (NSW)  C1
Simone Kennedy (NSW) C3
Sue Powell (ACT) C4
Alexandra Green (NSW) C4
Felicity Johnson (SA) B
Brandie O’Connor (ACT) B
Holly Takos (SA) Pilot
Breanna Hargrave (SA) Pilot


David Nicholas (QLD) C3
Michael Gallagher (VIC) C5
Alistair Donohoe (VIC) C5
Kieran Modra (SA) B
Jason Niblett (SA) Pilot
Matt Formston (NSW) B
Michael Curran (NSW) Pilot
Paul Kennedy (ACT) B
Tom Clarke (ACT) Pilot

By Cycling Australia

Posted 21/02/2014