Sport Australia Chair John Wylie has welcomed the appointment of four new commissioners to the Sport Australia Board, saying they will bring fresh approaches that will further improve sporting outcomes.

Minister for Sport, Bridget McKenzie, announced today that Kurt Fearnley AO, Amanda Laing, Andrew Ireland and Pippa Downes will join the Sport Australia Board on three-year terms.

“These four new appointees are highly accomplished and respected Australians across a range of fields and we are fortunate that progressing Australian sport is a passion they all share,” Wylie said. “I have every confidence their valuable perspectives and experience will benefit the Sport Australia Board and, in turn, Australian sport.”

Fearnley’s incredible Para-athletics career for Australia spanned five Paralympic Games campaigns, culminating with his wheelchair marathon victory at the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games, where he was also chosen to be the Australian flag bearer for the Closing Ceremony.

Adding to his powerful athletics performances, Fearnley has become an icon and advocate for people with disabilities in sport and the broader community, recently awarded NSW Australian of the Year. A former physical education teacher, Fearnley also sits on several panels and councils, including the International Paralympic Committee Athletes’ Council and Australian Paralympic Committee Board.

Minister McKenzie said:

“The appointments will strengthen the commercial capability of the organisation and have been made at an exciting time for Australian sport as Sport Australia plays a lead role in the delivery of the Government’s Sport 2030 – National Sport Plan.

“The commissioners will strengthen the implementation of Sport 2030 given the wide-ranging skills and extensive experience they bring to the table.”

The Sport Australia Board now comprises:

  • John Wylie AM (Chair)
  • Stephen Moneghetti AM (Deputy Chair)
  • The Hon Pat Farmer AM
  • Andrea Mitchell
  • Jennifer Morris OAM
  • Andrew Plympton AM
  • Danielle Roche OAM
  • Gabrielle Trainor AO
  • Glenys Beauchamp
  • Kurt Fearnley AO
  • Amanda Laing
  • Andrew Ireland
  • Pippa Downes

By Sport Australia
Posted: 07/01/2019

Most Read News