Sports Summary

Archery has featured at every Paralympic Games since the first in Rome 1960. The sport has three different classifications and is comprised of individual and team events in both standing and wheelchair competitions. Athletes shoot from a distance at a target marked with 10 scoring zones.

The object of the sport is to shoot arrows as close to the centre of a target as possible. Targets are 122cm in diameter, with the gold ring at the centre (worth a maximum 10 points) measuring just 12.2cm. Athletes shoot at the target from a distance of 70 metres.

Athletes compete with both recurve bows – distinctive as the limbs curve outwards at the top – and compound bows, which feature mechanical pulleys, telescopic sights and release aids to assist in accuracy.

Men and women compete separately, both as individuals and in teams of three, and all matches are conducted as straight knockouts.


Archery Australia

World Archery Federation

International Paralympic Committee

Events & Disciplines

Men’s and women’s individual (ST), (W1) and (W2). There are competitions for both recurve and compound bows, as well as a men’s and women’s team competition.


Who is eligible for Archery? Athletes with a physical impairment (such as spinal or nerve injury, limb loss or limb deficiency, cerebral palsy or other similar impairment).

What are the classes? In archery, athletes are grouped into three classes for competition: Standing (ST), Wheelchair 1 (W1) and Wheelchair 2 (W2).

ST – athletes compete from a standing position
W1 – athletes compete from a seated position and have an impairment that affects their arms, legs and trunk
W2 – athletes compete from a seated position and have an impairment that affects their legs and trunk

How do I get a classification? Currently the APC and Archery Australia are working towards developing an Australian archery classification system. To register your interest use the Get Classified form.

APC Classification Information Sheet – Archery PDF

Rules & Equipment

At the start of the competition all athletes take part in a ranking round. Athletes must shoot 72 arrows in 12 phases of six arrows each, with each athlete allowed four minutes per phase. The total score of all 72 arrows determines the rankings of each athlete. These are used to make the draw for both the individual and the team competitions.

In the individual event, matches are the best of five sets, with each set consisting of three arrows per athlete.

In the team event, teams of three compete against each other in a best-of-24-arrows format.

Jonathon Milne

Jonathon Milne


Click to see profile
Meet the 2016 Paralympic Archery Team

For further information about this sport and how to get involved please contact the National or your State Federation below

There are currently no National or State Federations for the following sport.

Get Involved