The 2018 FedUni Road National Championships continued Thursday with Para-cyclists testing themselves against the clock in Buninyong, with Para-cycling included for the first time.

Three-time Paralympic gold medallist Carol Cooke AM (VIC) took out the 12km women’s T2 in a time of 23:45.79.

“It’s really great to be part of this whole week of cycling here in Ballarat and to have Para-cycling looked at as just another discipline is a big step in the right direction and kudos to Cycling Australia for doing it,” said Cooke.

“It’s a very tough course. Most of our time trial courses are flat, so there’s a huge difference because there is nothing flat about this course,” quipped Cooke.

Rio Paralympic silver medallist Stuart Tripp (VIC) clocked his fifth national title, winning the men’s H5. Tripp completed the undulating 21km course in 38:31.12 to take the gold.

“The course was fantastic, I loved it,” said Tripp.

“The course was a lot more up and down than previous years but it was good to shake it up a little bit. I’m very happy.

“Normally we have our national championships in the middle of nowhere and there’s no atmosphere. To be finally included in the whole racing festival in Ballarat is so good.”

Winning herself a gold medal on her birthday, Simone Kennedy (NSW) took out the 12km women’s C3 classification in 21:44.61.

“It’s my birthday today so it’s nice to win on my birthday,” Kennedy said.

“It was probably the toughest 12kms I’ve raced in my life.

“I left it all out there, I caught Paige about halfway on the way back but then she got me on the last hill. I knew I had already caught her, so I just finished as strongly as I could.”

In other results, Paralympic medallists David Nicholas, Kyle Bridgwood and Alistair Donohoe took gold in the men’s C3, C4 and C5, respectively, while Darcy Thompson (SA) emerged on top in the C1 and Darren Hicks (SA) in the C2.

Kaitlyn Dawn Schurmann (VIC-C1), Hannah MacDougall (SA-C4), Fatema Tajbhai (VIC-C5), Grant Allen (SA-H4), Garry Robinson (NSW-T1), Alexander Welsh (VIC-H3) and Stuart Jones (T2) also pulled on the green and gold, as did tandem cyclists Lindy Hou (ACT) and Kerry Knowler (ACT-Pilot), and Kieran Murphy (SA) and Lachlan Glaspool (SA-Pilot).


MH3: Alexander Welsh (41:20.93)
MH4: Grant Allen (38:58.18)
MH5: Stuart Tripp (38:31.12)
MT1: Garry Robinson (29:35.76)
WT2: Carol Cooke (23:45.79)
MT2: Stuart Jones (22:38.39)
MC1: Darcy Thompson (40:14.95)
MC2: Darren Hicks (33:46.79)
MC3: David Nicholas (33:19.59)
MC4: Kyle Bridgewood (43:18.32)
WC1: Kaitlyn Dawn Schurmann (30:53.49)
WC3: Simone Kennedy (21:44.61)
WC4: Hannah MacDougall (38:40.59)
WC5: Fatema Tajbhai (38:11.30)
MC5: Alistair Donohoe (41:32.97)
WB: Lindy Hou (55:07.19)
MB: Kieran Murphy (40:13.14)

By Cycling Australia

Posted: 05/01/2017