The final day of the Para-cycling Track National Championships saw strong performances and some new rivalries develop as the riders spent all of their energy reserves on the track to record some blistering fast times including three new Australian records.

In the C4 women’s qualifiers, Meg Lemon (Port Adelaide) was looking to be on Australian record pace, before slowing to concede the top qualifying spot to Emily Petricola of St Kilda. Despite trailing for most of the race, Emily was able to claw the deficit back in the final 125m, pipping time trial champion Meg by 0.23 seconds to secure a gold medal to add to Friday’s silver.

Parramatta’s Simone Kennedy produced a dominating performance near her Australian record to win the national title over Paige Greco, who is new to the C3 Women’s classification.

Darren Hicks (Kilkenny), who was previously defeated by up-and-comer Gordon Allan during Friday’s time trial, was not only able to secure the individual pursuit win over Allan, but broke Allan’s provisional Australian record in their ride-off by over three seconds.

Townsville’s Kyle Bridgwood was the stand-out among the C4 men, managing to lap his opponent Patrick Best twice on his way to his second gold medal of the meet.

Riding solely against the clock, SA’s Darcy Thompson recorded the first C1 men’s individual pursuit time to set a new Australian record.

Canberra’s Lindy Hou and pilot Kerry Knowler were the only tandem women starting on Sunday, making the pair the only riders competing across all three days. The long-time pairing was able to record a strong time of 4.3.820 to claim the national title.

Amanda Reid, the current Australian record holder in the C2 women’s time trial, and Bronwyn Dolman (C5) of Port Adelaide both broke Australian records in the time trial to take the lead in the Australian Champions Jersey competition. However, through a time trial countback, Dolman was awarded the Australian Champions Jersey.

The ride of the day quite possibly came from Queensland’s David Nicholas, who qualified into the C3 Men’s final with Hunter’s Benjamin Swain. Nicholas, in his current World Champion jersey, rode a dominating performance to catch Swain in just four laps and continue on to break his own Australian record time. In doing so, Nicholas secured a bonus title, the Australian Champions Jersey, as a shared honour with Bronwyn Dolman.

By Cycling NSW

Posted: 11/12/2017