Adam Kellerman and Heath Davidson will be part of a three-strong home challenge when the Australian Open Wheelchair Tennis Event takes place at Melbourne Park from 24-27 January.

Kellerman and Davidson were awarded the wild cards for the men’s and quad events for the first of the four Grand Slam tournaments on the 2018 UNIQLO Wheelchair Tennis Tour, with the entries including defending champions Gustavo Fernandez and Dylan Alcott.

The top seven ranked men’s and women’s players and top three quad players at the ranking cut-off plus one wild card for each event make up the 20 players who will vie for the singles and doubles titles over four days of competition at Melbourne Park.

Kellerman returns to his home Grand Slam for the first time since 2016. After taking time out from the sport following the Rio Paralympics the 27-year-old former world No. 8 won the Australian National Championships in November to earn the men’s wild card for this year’s event.

With four different players having won the four Grand Slam men’s singles titles in 2017, defending champion Fernandez is one of three previous winners in this year’s men’s field, along with 2016 champion Gordon Reid and Shingo Kunieda, who won the most recent of his eight Australian Open titles in 2015.

For the second consecutive year, Davidson will double the Australian challenge in the quad event, with reigning Paralympic champion Dylan Alcott also among the entries.

Joining Alcott and Davidson are last month’s NEC Masters finalists David Wagner and Andy Lapthorne. While Alcott is set to attempt to win his fourth title at Melbourne Park, Wagner is also a three-time former champion and the last Australian Open quad singles winner before Alcott won the first of his three titles in 2015.

Entries List:

Gustavo Fernandez (ARG) (1)
Alfie Hewett (GBR) (2)
Stephane Houdet (FRA) (3)
Gordon Reid (GBR) (4)
Nicolas Peifer (FRA) (5)
Stefan Olsson (SWE) (6)
Shingo Kunieda (JPN) (7)
Adam Kellerman (AUS) (130)

Yui Kamiji (JPN) (1)

Diede de Groot (NED) (2)
Sabine Ellerbrock (GER) (3)
Marjolein Bus (NED) (4)
Aniek van Koot (NED) (5)
Lucy Shuker (GBR) (6)
Kgothatso Montjane (RSA) (7)
Katharina Kruger (GER) (8)

David Wagner (USA) (1)
Andy Lapthorne (GBR) (2)
Dylan Alcott (AUS) (3)
Heath Davidson (AUS) (5)

By the International Tennis Federation

Posted: 08/01/2018